Priyo Bangali 2009 Dr Rafiqul Islam from Adelaide Priyo Writer 2009 John Martin from

by Priyo Australia | June 20, 2009 4:53 am

Dr Rafiqul Islam: Priyo Bangali 2009
Dr Rafiqul Islam was born in December 1939 and graduated from Dhaka university with a B . Sc in 1958, B. Sc Agri in 1962 and M Sc Agri in 1964.He has been actively pursuing scientific research for 46 years , seven years on Rice at Agricultural research Institute and Atomic Energy Centre , Dhaka from 1963 – 1970 . Dr Islam then moved to Australia in 1970. He has since then changed his focus to wheat and Barley research and has been actively working at the Waite Research Institute, university of Adelaide for 37 years. He obtained a Ph. D degree from the University of Adelaide in 1980. During this period Dr. Islam has made many international breakthroughs in the field of Cytogenetics and Genetic Engineering.


● Published dozens of papers in top ranking scientific journals.
● write chapters on invitation for four major Review books published by renowned science publishers.
● Did present papers in many top international symposia and conferences some as invited speakers in Australia , Canada , England , Germany , India , Japan , Scotland , Sweden since 1975 .
● supervised several M .Sc / Ph D students.

● Refereed and reviewed scientific papers for many top international journals.


Award received:-

● Vice chancellors award from Dhaka University in 1964 for standing first in first class in M.Sc Agri. Exam.
● K. P. Barley award from university of Adelaide in 1978.

● William Culross award from university of Adelaide in 1980.
● Charles John Everard award from university of Adelaide in 1982.
● Significant service award from university of Adelaide in 1982.

Community involvements:-

● Founder member of Bangladesh Australia society of South Australia (BASSA) in 1984 & serving in different capacities like President, Treasurer etc.

● Founder members of ‘ Bangla School Adelaide ’ in 1998 & currently Principal since 2005.

● Member of ‘Adelaide Mosque society of South Australia ’since 1972 & currently serving as Honorary Treasurer.

Written by :- Ireen chaudhury

Badiuzzaman Khan handing over the crest to Hashmat Ali, Lifetime Achievement 2009

Sadequr Rahman handing over the crest to Mohammed Khan Mintoo, Priyo Friend 2009

Alice Nahar handing over Sirajus Salekin, Priyo Personality 2009’s crest to Umme Salma.

Shahadat Manik (Chief Editor, PriyoAustralia) handing over the crest to Priyo Writer 2006 Afzal Hossain

Afzal Hossain, Priyo Writer 2006 handing over the crest to John Martin, Priyo Writer 2009

Event photos are here at[1]


Source URL: